Skip to content

Introduction to Routines

2 September, 2009

bowl of lemon

                            Image by PDPhoto

Isn’t it funny how your children are better scheduled than you are? Breakfast, lunch, playdates, dinner, homework, bath and bed happen the same time every day, yet, you can’t find time to shower, let alone eat. When you have a baby, you spend hours agonizing over how they will spend their time awake. You make sure that they eat at least every three hours, they nap in between that, and they spend at least thirty minutes a day on their tummies. Later, you schedule in time for learning, playing, and learning while playing.

Why don’t you have a set routine?

Why do you hear about them so much?

Having a set routine is extremely important. Time is precious, and if you know what you are supposed to be doing next, you aren’t wasting it. This, in the end, will give you more time to devote to your children, and, dare I say it?, other interests. This will also teach your children important lessons about time management, productivity, and following through. And, if they see you doing it, there might be less of a fight when they have to complete their routine. It’s hard to motivate a kid to take a shower, brush their teeth, and get dressed when you haven’t done it yourself yet.

I have adapted my system partially from Flylady (Although, I don’t follow that system entirely…), and from what works for me and my home. Over the next few days, I’ll be going over my daily and weekly routines, a routine for getting your house ready for Autumn and Winter.  Hopefully this will help you develop your own routines and system. At the end of the series, I will spend some time talking about my Home Management Binder/Control Journal/Whatever you want to call it and how it has helped me to implement my routines, as well as keep everything together that is important for my family and the management of my household.

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10 September, 2009 2:21 pm

    Wooohooo for routines!!! This truly is the only way I EVER have a profitable day. It still, however is a struggle every day to not let go of the routine!!! Errrrr….

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

